Drumheadmag "My New Drum With Placebo's Steve Forrest", Oct'13

by Heather Smith

Steve Forrest-drummer of the UK’s Placebo, who recently released their seventh album, Loud Like Love-took a moment to tell Drumhead about his new favorite drum: his SJC Bamboo and Acrylic snare.

“My new favorite piece of gear is my bamboo and acrylic snare drum from SJC. I saw it at the London Drum Show, went and tried it, and I just loved it. It is made from two strips of bamboo sandwiching in a bit of acrylic. That makes it quite light, but the sound will cut the top of your head off. It’s also quite responsive when you’re doing ghost notes or shuffles or any sort of thing that requires a dynamic or a soft touch. It’s 14”x6.5”, quite standard measurements. Each one of these hybrid snares is completely handmade; so each one will have it’s own unique tone. All my bandmates, our crew, my drum tech and everyone who’s ever heard it has said, ‘That’s the best snare drum I’ve ever heard.’ It’s a beautiful piece of kit, and mikes up really well, in the studio and live regardless of whether we’re playing outdoor festivals, big arenas or even 2,000-3,000 capacity theater gigs: it sounds fantastic. For drummers, I think your snare drum—that’s your personality, and it’s got a lot of that. It’s definitely become my go to live snare.”

Watch the SJC snare in action at Sound Attak Drum Shop UK.

Placebo performed at NYC’s Terminal 5 this week and will perform at LA’s Wiltern Theater Oct. 18. These shows are a taste prior to their 2014 US tour.

Placebo has released six studio albums and sold more than 12 million records worldwide. The band’s self-titled debut album, released in 1996, was certified gold in the UK and achieved platinum status in France. Since then, Placebo has enjoyed an ever growing level of success around the world with their unique blend of music and outstanding live performances. Placebo's seventh studio album Loud Like Love was recorded in London at RAK Studios during 2012 and early 2013. The album was produced by Adam Noble and features ten brand new studio tracks.